smart phone

FIFA 23 will have an additional 12 Women’s Soccer Teams


Electronic Arts as the developer of FIFA 23 announced that the soccer game will have an additional 12 women’s soccer teams from the National Women’s Soccer League starting March 15.

The 12 additional women’s soccer teams in FIFA 23 are the result of a licensing partnership the development company recently signed with the league and the NWSL Players Association, according to a report from Engadget.

All of the female soccer athletes featured in the soccer game FIFA 23 will live up to their names, and will be part of the game’s franchise for the foreseeable future, including with the game’s rebranding to EA Sports FC later this year.


FIFA 23 ball game launched with 23 teams from the Women’s Super League and Division 1 from England and France. This game also marks the first time that EA has featured a female player on the cover of a game, with Chelsea’s Sam Kerr appearing in the Ultimate Edition.

Overall, the FIFA soccer game series has evolved even further since FIFA 16, which was the first time EA included professional women’s soccer players.

On March 15, all 12 NWSL teams will be available to play in FIFA 23’s Kick-Off game mode. In addition, the teams will also be available in tournament mode, online session mode to friendly matches.

If both teams are from the NWSL, EA says gamers will get to see the original match broadcast experience. Separately, EA has also added an option for gamers to play games through the UEFA Women’s Champions League (UWCL) in Kick-Off and tournament modes.


This UWCL mode also adds 4 new clubs from Europe, including Juventus and Real Madrid to complete the UWCL gaming experience.

NWSL Commissioner Jessica Berman said athletes call the NWSL the best home in the world for women’s soccer and we are thrilled to showcase talent through FIFA 23. [FY/HBS]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button